And so it begins…again

Hi everyone,
Hope all of you are well and you are all happy and healthy since the last time I have blogged. As most of you know by now, my journey to completing the Niagara Falls International Marathon is over. After an injury plagued final few weeks, I painfully completed one of the hardest things I have ever physically done in completing a marathon. It was emotionally and physically demanding and exhausting, and due to injuries, I took some time off over the off season to recuperate…and recuperate I did. I took up some new hobbies, like watching television, eating chips and drinking beer!

I have run only three times since October. The first one was a painful 4 k, which led to new shoes. The second and third were getting me back on the running wagon and that takes where I am today. I have cross country skied and enjoyed regular rides on my bake on the trainer in the basement, but am nowhere near any physical condition to run longer than 5k!

Last week at this time, I was preparing myself for March Break and then starting my training schedule to complete a half iron duathlon in early July in my current hometown of Peterborough Ontario. I run 2k,bike for 90k and then run a half marathon (21.1k) A big challenge, but I am ready to get back on my bike and ride the roads and toss in some 1/2 marathon training as well.

That was my plan. Then this came in the mail.

r

20140307-202827.jpg

So, my mind started to run (at least something is) and decided that if friends and family of Brian the Great are going to keep the traditional alive and make this an annual event and run (a variety of distances) at the Niagara Falls marathon, then I am in…and if I am in, I want a better experience than last year!

So, I hereby declare that in October 2014, I will be running the Niagara Falls International marathon again in honour and memory of Brian the Great (as well as to raise money in his name for the Niagara Children’s Museum). Let the pain begin, but that is a story for next time!

Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

