Countdown to the Marathon

Today is a grey dismal day outside. The temperature is dropping, the leaves are falling, the rain is starting and I am reflecting. Reflecting on my marathon training schedule, the long hours of training and preparation that I have put in to run this marathon and it all ends on Sunday. That is when the Niagara Falls Marathon takes place.

I am pretty excited for a variety of reasons.
1. Race day will finally be here. Race day is always exciting because you get to compete against yourself to see how far you can push your body for mental satisfaction (there is no physical satisfaction that I can think of….)!

2. I get to see my Niagara family and friends. I don’t see them as often as I should or as often as I would like, so I hope to make the most of the weekend!

3. Good meals! I can’t wait for my pre-pre game meal at my Mother in Law’s house on Friday (which means I don’t have to cook! Woo-Hoo!). On Saturday, I am looking forward to some traditional Italian fare via Strada West in Niagara Falls (so excited) and then Sunday, the post game celebration will take place at the Y Not Again in Chippawa! The BEST pizza and wings! And Beer. Mmmmmm…beer!

4. I get to run from Buffalo to Niagara Falls. Over the Peace Bridge. How cool is that?

4. I get to honor my uncle. For those of you that aren’t regular readers, there is a reason why I am running the marathon. And even for you regular readers, here is more information which inspired me to train for months to run this marathon http://www.wellandtribune.ca/2011/11/19/the-ballad-of-brian-and-debra

So, I am still hurt. I haven’t been able to run longer than 6k in the last two weeks with strong discomfort in my left ankle. I have spent more time in the last two weeks riding my road bike, averaging 20-35 Km a ride. And without pain or discomfort! Yet I remain anxious. Tired. Worried. Yet relieved that this weekend, it all ends. This could be me only marathon. Only time will tell. Only time will tell!!!

For more information on Andy running the Niagara Falls Marathon in October 2013 in memory of his uncle, Brian the Great, or to make a donation, please see the link on the homepage of the museum website at http://www.niagarachildrensmuseum.ca/

Leave a Reply

