Oh no……..

Last Sunday was my last big long run before I started tapering in preparation for the Niagara Falls International Marathon, which takes place at the end of this month. I had a great run, but near the end, I started to develop some ‘discomfort’ in my left leg below my calf and into my ankle. I could run through it, but there was discomfort. So, when at home, I threw on my compression tights and iced my leg, especially where it was sore, and did some massage and pressure point release on the areas of my leg that were sore or sensitive to touch. All is good, right?

Wrong! The next days was a day off from training, but a a work day. My ankle and lower leg were sore. I tried to ice and massage at work when I had time, but I don’t sit still long enough at work to ice or massage my leg, so my plan to rest and ice my leg didn’t actually happen, nor did it the following day. However, my leg felt better. So, I went out for a run when I got home from work. That lasted just over 5 k. The ‘discomfort’ that I felt on my long run returned, this time a little bit stronger. I knew I needed to head home and stop running before I hurt myself further. I got home, stretched and iced my leg and then made the decision to take some time off. So, I have missed about 26k of training before I went out for a test run yesterday. That run lasted 6k.

The ‘strong discomfort’ lingered. It was very present as I ran. However, I could run through the discomfort. I got home, stretched, iced and then went and bought some compression socks to help see if they could help with the injury and recovery. I also realize that the marathon run will be a pain filled exercise that will probably last longer than 4 hours and could involve me running with compression socks and changing my running plan to run and walk, which I don’t do very much (if any) at all.

This sucks! I didn’t train to hurt myself weeks before the marathon, but it is a fact. Combine my gait, training, shoes, heel strike, stride and that is a recipe for overuse of some muscles causing other undeveloped muscles to take over, hence the cause of the injury. The injury will slow me down, but I hope it doesn’t stop me from completing the marathon. Less than two weeks away! Stay tuned for details!

For more information on Andy running the Niagara Falls Marathon in October 2013 in memory of his uncle, Brian the Great, or to make a donation, please see the link on the homepage of the museum website at http://www.niagarachildrensmuseum.ca/

Leave a Reply

